What is cervical cancer?

Cervical cancer is a cancer that arising from the cervix, and can spread from the surface of cervix to other parts of the body.

Cervical cancer ranks as the seventh most common cancer among females in Hong Kong. In 2013, 503 new cases of cervical cancer were diagnosed. In 2014, a total of 131 women died from this cancer, accounting for 2.3% of female cancer deaths.

What is the relationship between cervical cancer and HPV?

Cervical Intraepithelial Neoplasia (CIN)

CIN affects the skin of the cervix (epithelial cells). CIN is not cancer, but a pre-cancerous condition which is usually caused by persistent HPV infection of the cervix. Treatment may be needed to prevent development into cancer.

There are three types of CIN:
CIN 1 — abnormal cell growth in 1/3 of the cervix epithelial cell layer.
CIN 2 — abnormal cell growth in 2/3 of the cervix epithelial cell layer.
CIN 3 — abnormal cell growth in more than 2/3 or full thickness of the cervix epithelial cell layer is affected. CIN3 does not always lead to cancer; however, if it is not treated properly, it may progress into cancer over time.

Human papillomavirus (HPV) is a group of more than 200 types of related viruses. More than 40 types of these viruses can infect the genital area of men and women. HPV types are often classified into “low-risk” (wart-causing) or “high-risk” (cancer-causing).

HPV infection is commonly spread during vaginal or anal sex. Most people infected with HPV are asymptomatic and will clear the infection on their own. For a minority of cases, the virus is not cleared by the immune system and can cause serious health problems, such as genital warts. Also persistent high-risk HPV infection of the cervix can develop pre-cancerous cell changes. While the majority of these changes will regress to normal, some may gradually progress to cervical cancer over the years.

What is cervical screening test?

There are two screening tests that can help detect cell changes in the cervix at an early stage:

  • The Pap smear
  • The HPV test

The abnormal cells might become cervical cancer if they are not treated appropriately.

To perform a Pap smear test, the doctor inserts a speculum into your vagina and collects a few cell samples from the cervix. These cells are then transferred to a glass slide, or solution in a bottle and sent to a laboratory for examination. If your doctor uses liquid-based cytology, the same sample can be used for HPV DNA testing as well.

 

Risk factors

Over 99% of cervical cancers are caused by HPV infection. Risk factors for cervical cancer include:

  • Sex at an early age
  • Having multiple sexual partners, or the sexual partner with multiple sexual partners
  • History of sexually-transmitted diseases
  • Smoking
  • Weakened immunity
  • Using birth control pills for a long time (five or more years)
  • Having given birth to three or more children and younger age at first full-term pregnancy

 

Symptoms

Cervical cancer is often asymptomatic at an early stage. Advanced cervical cancer may present the following symptoms:

 

Treatments

Treatment for cervical cancer depends on the stage of the disease. Pre-cancerous cells can be removed simply by using a number of different treatments – the majority of which can be performed in an outpatient clinic, i.e. LEEP. For cases where cancer is present, the following treatment options may be applied: removal of the womb (hysterectomy), radiotherapy and chemotherapy. Cancer of the cervix is highly treatable, if it is detected and treated early. The 5-year survival rate for patients with early stage of cervical cancer is above 85%.

 

 

The above information was copied from the Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.
HPV SELF-SAMPLING – Cervical Cancer & HPV
: http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/sphpc/hpvselfsampling/en/cc-n-hpv.html

甚麽是子宫颈癌?

子宫颈癌是发生在子宫颈位置的癌症,它可以从子宫颈表面扩散至身体的其他不同部位。

在香港女性最常见的癌症中,子宫颈癌居于第七位。2013年共有503宗新症。而2014年共有131 名女性死于此癌症,佔女性癌症死亡率的2.3%。

子宫颈癌与HPV的关係

子宫颈上皮内瘤(CIN)

CIN是子宫颈上皮细胞 (epithelial cells) 内出现变异。CIN并不是癌症而是一种癌前的变化状态,通常是由持续感染HPV引致的。CIN癌前病变可能需要治疗,才能避免发展成为子宫颈癌。

CIN 分为三级:
CIN第一级 — 有1/3厚度的子宫颈上皮内出现细胞变异。
CIN第二级 — 有2/3厚度的子宫颈上皮内出现细胞变异。
CIN第三级 — 超过2/3或整层的子宫颈上皮内都出现细胞变异。 CIN第三级并不一定导致癌症,但若得不到适当的治疗,将有可能在数年间发展成为癌症。

人类乳头瘤病毒(HPV)是一组超过200种类型的病毒。其中超过40种HPV可以感染男性和女性的生殖器官。HPV通常被分为「低风险」(引致生殖器疣)或「高风险」(引致癌症)。

HPV病毒感染一般是由阴道或肛门性接触而传染。大部分感染HPV的人士不会出现任何症状,而且可由免疫系统自行清除病毒。在少数情况下,免疫系统不能清除病毒,并导致严重的健康问题,如生殖器疣。持续感染高风险类型的HPV可能导致子宫颈出现不正常的细胞病变,并且有机会在数年间发展成为癌症。

甚麽是子宫颈筛查测试?

现时有两种方法可以在早期检测子宫颈的细胞变化:

  • 柏氏抹片检查
  • HPV病毒检查

若没有适当的治疗,细胞变异可能发展成为子宫颈癌。

当进行柏氏抹片检查时,医生会将阴道窥探器放进你的阴道位置,并在子宫颈採出细胞样本。这些细胞会被涂抹在玻璃片上,或浸泡在一樽液体内并送往化验室进行化验测试。如果你的医生是使用液基细胞学技巧检验(liquid-based cytology),同一个细胞样本可用作HPV病毒感染测试。

 

高危因素

超过99%的子宫颈癌是由人类乳头瘤病毒(HPV)感染引起的。其他的高危因素包括:

  • 过早开始有性经验
  • 自己或伴侣有多个性伴侣
  • 曾感染性传染疾病
  • 吸烟
  • 免疫能力减弱
  • 长期使用口服避孕药(达五年或以上)
  • 生育三次或以上及第一次怀孕时年纪较轻

 

病徵

初期的子宫颈癌通常没有症状。后期的子宫颈癌症状包括:

 

诊断及治疗

不同阶段的子宫颈癌会有不同的治疗方案。癌症前期病变有数种简单的治疗方法,这些治疗大部分可在一般普通科门诊进行(如子宫颈电环切除手术)。若已发现癌细胞,可选择的治疗方法包括:子宫切除(Hysterectomy),放射治疗(Radiotherapy)和化学治疗(Chemotherapy)。若能及早发现及治疗,子宫颈癌的治癒率是相当高的。若患者能于子宫颈癌病发早期接受治疗,其五年存活率可达85%以上。

 

 

以上資料由香港中文大學醫學院賽馬會公共衞生及基層醫療學院轉載
HPV自我採檢—子宮頸癌與HPV:http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/sphpc/hpvselfsampling/zh/cc-n-hpv.html