1. Why get a HPV self-sampling test?

Most cervical cancer is caused by persistent HPV infection. HPV self-sampling test enables women to take a self-collected cervico-vaginal sample at home for HPV testing.

 

2. What are the benefits of performing HPV self-sampling?

HPV self-sampling is a reliable screening tool, which can overcome the barriers to Pap smear screening. It is easy to perform, convenient and time saving.

 

3. When do we start having cervical screening?

Women aged 25-64 years who have ever had sex should receive cervical cancer screening every three years after two annual consecutive normal screenings. Women aged below 25 years who have previously had sex, should seek advice from doctors concerning the need for cervical cancer screening.

 

4. Apart from Pap smear and HPV self-sampling, are there any other prevention strategies?

Apart from tackling the risk factors,three approved HPV vaccines in Hong Kong: Cervarix®,Gardasil-4® and Gardasil-9® are recommended. Cervarix® is approved for used in female from the age of 9 years, whereas Gardasil-4® and Gardasil-9® were approved for use in both female and male from the age of 9 years. Women who are interested in being vaccinated should seek further advice from doctors.

 

5. Do women who have been vaccinated still need to attend cervical screening?

Yes. The vaccines that are currently available protect against the two most common oncogenic HPV types (i.e. HPV16, 18), which are responsible for only 70% of all cervical cancers. Therefore, regular cervical screening is still required after vaccination, for the best possible protection against cervical cancer.

 

 

The above information was copied from the Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.
HPV SELF-SAMPLING – HPV Self-Sampling
: http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/sphpc/hpvselfsampling/en/contact.html

1. 为甚麽要进行自我採检?

大部分的子宫颈癌是由于持续感染人类乳头瘤病毒(HPV)引起的。HPV自我採检可以让女性自行採集子宫颈和阴道的细胞样本用作HPV测试。

 

2. 进行HPV自我採检有甚麽好处?

HPV自我採样棒是一种可靠的检测工具,可以让你避免子宫颈抹片检查所带来的不便,而且容易掌握、方便和省时。

 

3. 我们应该甚麽时候开始进行筛查?

年龄介乎25至64岁并曾有性经验的女性,都应该定期接受子宫颈细胞筛查测试。开始时每年一次,若连续两年检查结果是正常,便可每三年检查一次。25岁以下并曾有性经验的女性,应谘询医生的意见,评估是否需要进行子宫颈筛查测试。

 

4. 除了柏氏抹片和HPV自我採检,还有其他预防方法吗?

除了应对高危因素,香港现时有三种认可的HPV疫苗:卉妍康、加卫苗-4和加卫苗-9。卉妍康被认可用于9岁或以上之女性,而加卫苗-4及加卫苗-9均被认可用于9岁或以上之女性和男性。有兴趣接受疫苗接种的女性应谘询医生的意见。

 

5. 接种了HPV疫苗后的女性,仍需接受子宫颈筛查测试吗?

需要。现时可供选择的HPV疫苗均能预防两种最常见的致癌型HPV病毒(即16型及18型),而当中约70%的子宫颈癌是由这两种类型病毒引起。不过,还有其他高风险型的HPV会引致子宫颈癌。因此,接种HPV疫苗后的女性也应该定期接受筛查测试,对子宫颈癌作最好的预防。

 

 

以上資料由香港中文大學醫學院賽馬會公共衞生及基層醫療學院轉載
HPV自我採檢—常見問題:http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/sphpc/hpvselfsampling/zh/contact.html